• EMC Poster
  • #24 Ali and Aoife, video still, 2022
  • Aisling O’Beirn, video still, 2022


Exquisite Moving Corpse Screening

Date: Thursday 21st July
Time: 6:30pm - 7.30pm (doors open 6:00pm)
Register Here


62 min. video, 2020- 2022 with sound – B&W and color

Conceived as a collaboration by Chip Lord, Jack Massing and Sean Miller


The Exquisite Moving Corpse started as a conversation between Chip Lord, Jack Massing, and Sean Miller in 2020. In planning the The Exquisite Moving Corpse decisions were made to trade the methodology from the original Surrealist drawing strategy with video making. Each invited artist made a one-minute video based on the last frame of the previous minute. The three originators curated (root word cura: to care for) the moving corpse by inviting 19 other artists each. Sixty artists in sixty minutes. Some artists produced their one minute video within hours whereas others took weeks to complete their minute. All the work, play, sharing, and caretaking resulted in The Exquisite Moving Corpse, 2022. Two years of collective efforts produced an open-source project within an isolated yet digitally connected creative community of international Artists.

The Exquisite Corpse was a Surrealist strategy for collective art making, similar to the old parlor game Consequences in which players take turns writing on a piece of paper, in turn folding it to conceal what was previously written. With The Exquisite Corpse the Surrealists applied this methodology to the human body with various body parts being concealed and drawn and folded over by multiple artists to produce a final chance-oriented figurative representation.

The artists involved in order of appearance in The Exquisite Moving Corpse are:

1. Chip Lord
2. Jack Massing
3. Sean Miller
4. Chiaozza
5. Phillip Pyle II
6. Kara Hearn
7. Sergio Vega
8. Ken Friedman
9. Bill Wegman
10. Bryan Konefsky
11. Albert Chong
12. Robert Hodge
13. Chris Sollars
14. Mary Mattingly
15. Natali Leduc 
16. Gustavo Vazquez
17. Tea Mäkipää
18. Mel Chin 
19. Sarah Aziz
20. Hasan Elahi
21. Hillerbrand+Magsamen
22. Leyla & Mike Mandel 
23. Kristin Lucas
24. Ali and Aoife
25. Shane Mecklenburger
26. Oliver Herring
27. Bibbe Hansen
28. Fereshteh Toosi
29. Craig Smith
30A. Tom Marioni
30B. Severn Eaton
31. Pinar Yoldas
32. Adebukola Bodunrin
33. James Benning
34. Chris Beaver
35. Connie Hwang
36. Chris Felver
37. Theadora Walsh
38. Cyriaco Lopes and Terri Witek
39. Jason Simon
40. Isabelle Carbonell    
41. Aisling O’Beirn
42. Mark Seliger
43. Elia Vargas
44. Leah Floyd + Cristina Molina
45. José Hernández Sánchez
46. John Sanborn
47. Dana Sherwood
48. Pecos Hank
49. Emiko Omori 
50. Mark Dion
51. Jack Thompson
52. Bart Weiss
53. Rachel Mayeri
54. Nina Katchadourian
55. Larry Andrews 
56. Emmanuel Manu Opoku
57. Tony Oursler 
58. Tony Labat
59. Alyssa Taylor Wendt
60. Muntadas